some thoughts on time

You know how people say there is no such thing as a stupid question. That is false. There absolutely is such a thing as a stupid question. First of all, if we already talked about it and you weren’t listening, then your question is stupid. Just pay attention. Second, people (specifically students) need to learn how to think for themselves and figure stuff out. Life isn’t just going to hand you things. You are not always going to have a trip leader who’s primary purpose is making sure you don’t get lost or hit by a car or eat something you are allergic to. LEARN HOW TO FIGURE SHIT OUT. Please and thank you. Sometimes, your question is stupid and if you keep it in and wait a few minutes, it will be answered anyway. Sometimes the things you wonder in your head should not be said aloud.

I went on a mini-rant at my students the other day. I get a lot of questions about time. What time is it? How long will it take to get there? My answer is always that I do not know. Every single time, but they still ask. So I shared my feelings about time. I do not care. I do not care what time it is or how long it will take to get there. Why do you care? Do you have somewhere else you need to be? You are in Thailand. Everything is planned for you. Whether it takes 10 minutes to get there or an hour, you’re still going to sit in the van/truck/taxi until we get there.

Do you have a solution to our running late? I do, walk faster! The New Yorker in me has trouble walking this slowly. I thought saying walk faster was harsh, so I have been saying walk with purpose or intention. I sometimes want to hit me. Also, I don’t think it works. If you are so concerned with how long things will take, maybe you should make an effort to move faster than a sloth. You are not cute enough to move that slowly.

Am I being mean? I wonder if I am mean every few days. However, everyone seems to be having fun and all my students say they like me. Stay tuned…

One thought on “some thoughts on time

  1. Life lessons like “move your ass” need to be taught by someone. This time, someone is you. Don’t worry, you’re a good teacher.

    Like

Leave a Reply

