I Wasn’t Prepared for Winter

When I left New York in May I packed for summer in Thailand. I was prepared for the year-round summer weather of southeast Asia.

In case you were not aware, the weather in Seoul is similar to the weather in New York. So at the end of December it’s really cold. This week the temperature has hovered in the high 30s and low 40s Fahrenheit. In Chiang Mai it’s been in the 80s.

So I’ve got shorts, tank tops, dresses, bathing suits, and sandals. You know what I do not have? A coat. A heavy sweater. A hat. The warmest shirt I have is a flannel, which I have come to realize is not very warm. Luckily I have good friends. I was able to borrow a heavy sweatshirt, a pea coat, and a hat. Also my brother brought me jeans in September, so yay for pants.

I’ve been wearing 6 layers a day. Yes, you read that right. Six layers. Here is what I am wearing today: a tank top, a cardigan, my flannel shirt, a t-shirt weight zip-up sweatshirt, a heavy zip-up sweatshirt, a pea coat, jeans, socks with turtles wearing shark fins, moccasins, and a big scarf wrapped around twice.

The bundling process is long. Everyone has to wait for me when we’re getting ready to go outside. I think I have an idea of how hard it was for knights to put on their armor back in the day.

I’m ready to downsize when I’m back in Chiang Mai. Seoul has been great, but I’ll be happy to go back to 1 or 2 layers a day instead of 6.

Leave a Reply

