Always climb to the top

My first stop after leaving Thailand was Langkawi, an island off the coast of peninsular Malaysia. 

It’s got all the island stuff you’d expect from an island in Southeast Asia. But since I was only there for a day, I didn’t spend much time on the beach. 

The Langkawi cable car takes you to the top of Gunung Machinchang, the second highest peak in Langkawi. When you get to the top there’s a sky bridge with views in all directions. The cable car has 3 sections. From the base to the middle station is said to be the second steepest in the world (after one in Israel) at 42 degrees. It’s also the longest free span for a mono-cable car. At the top you’re 708 meters above sea level. 

Once you’re at the top you can walk along the sky bridge. 

I took the cable car up in the mist. It’s eery to watch the cable cars in front of and behind me disappear in the clouds. The sky started to clear when I reached the top. For a few minutes The views were incredible as I crossed the sky bridge at the top of the world. Then all of a sudden the mist rolled in again. And I was swallowed by the clouds. 

Leave a Reply

